The EBRC was last convened in August 2019, ahead of the General Election in July 2020.

Made up of civil servants, the committee will assess the boundaries of the current electoral divisions and produce a report recommending potential changes, taking into consideration changes in the number of electors due to shifts in population numbers and housing developments. 

In the last review, Singapore did away with six-member group representation constituencies (GRCs) and increased the number of MPs by four.

Sengkang GRC was formed, along with four new single-member constituencies – Kebun Baru, Marymount, Punggol West and Yio Chu Kang.

There are currently 17 GRCs and 14 SMCs.


Leave A Reply

© 2024 The News Singapore. All Rights Reserved.